Experimental FilterParams add-on, Dark themes and Glade

If you can add Kari’s experimental FilterParams addon, you can walk through all the Custom Filters in all the Categories without all the hassles. [ FilterParams ReadMe.md ]

You can delete filters, run (interruptible) tests, simultaneously change parameters in multi-rule filters… it’s worth the manual download & install.

do a lot more maintenance on custom filters

1 Like

I am just beginning to experiment with filters. have not had much need of them, but I will keep this in mind!

Let’s say you set up a custom filter that has 3 rules: find all direct ancestors to 4 generations, find all descendants, find everyone within 2 degrees of separation of that same focal person.

And it works just the way you hoped.

But then you want to look at the same relatives originating from a different person and 5 generations of those ancestors.

You could use the standard editor and drill down through all those rules and carefully tweak each one. (Which means remember which category, switching to that view, enabling the Gramplet sidebar, switching to the filter view, navigating to the filter Gramplet, switching to the right custom filter, hitting Edit, double-click on each of the 3 rules in turn, navigate a selection dialog for each of those rules, remember to change the ancestors generator count. And be worry you missed a setting. and then FINALLY you can run the filter.

But… if you use the FilterParams tool, you can do all that from a single form. And change the focal person in all 3 rules by changing 1 ID field.

It is FAR less complex.

1 Like

sounds great actually, But I am not great at installing things manually for GRAMPS. I think this one sounds good enough to give it a try and there seem to be clear direction on how to incorporate it, sooo…wish me luck, LOL

1 Like

Guess I did something wrong…

Screenshot 2021-12-06 233357
It doesn’t seem to be usuable

There are 3 files:

• filterparams.glade