Simple Starter question about data input - how?

I’m new, OK, and I’d like to ask a question whilst my first impressions are still first impressions.

I’ve looked around the panels, read (some of) the help text, scanned this forum.

What I thought I could do, and the software would have a panel for, is to enter a bunch of details I have about people, and state their relationship to each other, an input panel like:

Surname
Forename
D.O.B.
D.O.D
parent of:
Child of:
Spouse of:
D.O.M.

All of that on a single panel would let me sit down with this hand drawn chart and spend a happy day keying in details.
As an ex database architect I appreciate the data issues under the cover in setting out all the relationships, and it will get more and more complicated - but that above would get a basic tree in place pretty quickly.

Have I just missed seeing the obvious (very possible) or am I coming at this from the wrong direction.

Any suggestions, help, brickbats etc would be gratefully received.

R

You will have to create at least one person in the person view. Enter the name and sex and use the event tab to add any personal events such as birth and death. Once you have the first person created I would switch to the relationship view. It will allow you to add parents, spouses, and children to that person. Clicking on a person in the relationship view will make them the active person in the relationship view and allow you to add relations to them.

Hope that helps

2 Likes

You could also type it all into a spreadsheet, if that’s faster for you, and then import from a csv file.
https://gramps-project.org/wiki/index.php/Gramps_5.1_Wiki_Manual_-_Manage_Family_Trees:_CSV_Import_and_Export

1 Like

and yet another approach…
I find the add-on DataEntry Gramplet is a quick way to enter repetitive data. You’ll have to download & install it.

Create a Source with the hand-drawn chart as the Citation.