Speeding up of some List displays

As a user that opens the list display such as Sources, 200 times a session… Each time the “load” it takes a full second or more.
Is there a way to speed up the display of the list? This could save 200 seconds and relieve some frustration.
The list might change once per session, however, could this not stay in memory that you can get an immediate display on the screen???
Only if there has been a change to the sources would it need to “load”.
This would also apply to the Places list also. There may be other lists, but those for me are the most used.
Is it possible with the current coding? I know with an SQL back end, the data would be kept in memory so a query would not be required. (I’m not a coder).

Try adding the new Filter+ gramplet (an Isotammi addon) allows empirically measuring the refresh of the view.

Each time you click “Find” (even if there are no filtering parameters set) measures how long the view takes to find the data.

It would be interesting to discover if there is a lag due to the initialization of the view that doesn’t affect successive refreshes.

Without knowledge of your workflow, are opening the Sources view or the Citation Tree view? The Citation Tree is not actually a source view even though it appears in that navigation. As you add citations, that list changes when the source list does not.

Do you utilize the floating clipboard? If you are repeatedly using the same set of sources during a session, copy them to the clipboard. Then you can dnd the source into its tab and allows immediate ability to add the citation.

When adding Source Citations to an event, utilizing the Add Existing… option becomes first and foremost a search for the Source. This is true if the source information is not repeated in the citation field.