Media preservation

W11, AIO64-5.1.5-1

I would like to know what is the best method to keep the photos accessible. I am going to explain it in some detail so that you can understand what I mean.
I start from the assumption that I have no programming knowledge or experience in GRAMPS.
For my tree to be able to pass to my descendants in conditions, I use the 1-2-3 rule

• 3 copies of data, one primary and two backup copies only
  • I store the data on 2 different types of media
  • I keep a copy in 1 different physical location
    With that I have no problem, but with images and documents, how do you do it, besides putting relative paths, do you synchronize folders? Especially for day to day use. For long term copies, you replace folders and it is not so much of a problem.
    Any pc can suffer an accident and I don’t want to lose the images.
    Thanks
1 Like

Everyone is different and Gramps does not impose any particular system or another as best whatever that means, so whatever works best for you.

You can read how some other people have organised files at the following link: Organise your files - Gramps

1 Like

I backup all my media files (currently 27K / 64GB) once a week to an external hard drive which I do not leave on and connected to my PC. Backups of the database get loaded to a thumb drive daily.

As you say, accidents happen.

1 Like

All my genealogy files are in one Genealogy directory hierarchy on my PC, even databases and backups.

That directory is part of my Dropbox file structure, automatically backuped on cloud.

On my Synology NAS, Dropbox re-import that structure as it. Every night it does a cold backup and put it on another Dropbox directory to archive it. Ideally I would backup that with another cloud backup service or to another Synology system. But that’s enough for my needs.

Thank you. I have no problem organizing my files, I have it pretty well figured out.