Suggestions for creating Sources and Respositories for original certificates

I’m just getting started with Gramps. I’ve recently acquired a large amount of physical records from my recently decease grandmother, who was an avid genealogist. I want to make sure that I create solid, dependable records not only for myself, but because there is simply so much information to manage.

I’ve read through the user guide, chats, etc, and found some good suggestions for sources and repositories, but I’m not sure how to handle some of the information I have. Specifically, I have original birth certificates, marriage licenses, and death certificates. I think I have a good naming scheme for the Sources: Country code (Alpha-3), State postal code, County name (if applicable), department/facility/etc, year, description (e.g. birth certificate). In this case, I used USA, AL, Department of Public Health, , Birth Certificate. I didn’t include the county court because it’s the original issued from the state.

I started creating the Respository, which I named “USA, AL, Department of Public Health”, but then I was stumpoed on the Repository Type or for the Media Type.

What have you guys used in the past? Any concerns or considerations for my approach? I’d really love to see a collection of best practices because I don’t want to enter hundreds of items only to realize I’m not going about it the best way. Thanks in advance!

Gramps 5.1.5, Windows 10

1 Like

Welcome

There are as many ways to set up Repository/Source/Citation as there are Gramps users. I can only tell you what works for me.

I treat documents that I have gathered from close relatives differently than a scan of a document from a site like Ancestry.