Question about source vs. citation (marriage, birth certificates, etc.)

I am new to genealogy and actually firmly using Gramps. I have dabbled with it years before but only recently got enough family tree history to really start investing in it.

My question is- do marriage certificates belong as sources or citations?

I only recently started adding so I would like to do this properly from the start instead of fixing plenty of entries later. I have done a “City Building” as a repository, then “County probate court” (which is housed in that building/library) as the source, then each marriage certificate (for instance) is a citation.

But now I’m thinking the proper method is probably to put each marriage certificate as its own source even though the citation will probably be empty (or just use “today” as I’ve seen in searches.)

My reasoning is- even though there’s not much to “cite” on a one page PDF the same marriage certificate can be used to verify someone’s birth (as some of my earlier ones include the birthdate of the bride and groom). Also, it seems that it really is a “source” overall. It’ll just be somewhat messy for sorting sources by group I would think (since each would be titled differently that they cannot be grouped.)

Any advice on this?

Same could be said for birth certificates because old ones have ages of parents or professions, etc. etc.

1 Like

If I have an original paper certificate in my files, I create a separate source for it.

If I get an image from FamilySearch, for example, I create a source like this:
Title: Marriage records, v. 2-A
Author: Whitley County (Indiana). Clerk of the Circuit Court
Pub. Info: Salt Lake City, Utah : Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1990

In the repository reference for FamilySearch, I put the microfilm number in the Call Number field. I also attach a note to the repository reference with the URL of the FamilySearch catalog entry where the film is listed.