Remove ellipses from graph

Gramps version is 5.1.5
Operating System is macOS 10.15.7

Hello! I’m very new to GRAMPS.

I’m intrigued by all the different ways to render the info I’ve entered into GRAMPS into a diagram – I mean, using the Reports menu (Graphs, Text Reports, etc.)

My question is if there’s a way to further tweak the visualizations available.

As a specific example, I like the Relationship Graph but don’t want the yellow circles (I’d prefer the line just fork out instead).

If I understand correctly, one way would be to output a Graphviz file (gv) and manually edit it in a text file to remove these ellipses. I’ve tried doing this – deleting references to the ellipses – but now I don’t know how to render a pdf file from the edited/saved gv file. Any tips?

Or otherwise, is there a more straightforward way to use GRAMPS to do what I’m trying to do – taking my specific example of removing the circles?

Thanks!

Welcome to the community. If you have the Graphviz app installed on your computer, you can use it to open the .gv file and then export to PDF. You can download the app from graphviz.org/download.

1 Like

Welcome

In the Relationships Graph, those yellow ellipses should contain the marriage information for the family; joining the two parents and any resulting children. How are you entering the marriage event for the family?

You may be interested in the Addon:Graph View. This creates a dynamic view within Gramps unlike a report which is a snapshot in time of your work.

1 Like

Thanks GeorgeWilmes:
I’ll give the standalone Graphviz a try. Nice to know I can manually correct the output to suit my needs, though it’s fairly labour intensive to have to edit code, so hoping i can find a solution within GRAMPS. But thanks for pointing me to the GV App.

And thanks DaveSch: