Any Chance to get a .deb Installation?

Hallo,

I always find it a pity to be “discriminated” as Linux user. For Windows and Mac, ready-made program installation files always appear immediately. A native .deb is often only weeks later.
I am not a programmer and am not familiar with compiling :wink:
Is there a chance to use the new Gramps nativ on Linux soon?

Thanks to everyone involved in the Gramps project. You do a great job!!!

1 Like

It is just a matter of when a volunteer who has both the knowledge and spare time is available to make a package. They might already be working long hours at their job. Also, due to the use of different versions of libraries between distributions, sometimes .deb files are not fully compatible for both Debian-based and Ubuntu-based distributions. I would not be surprised if some troubleshooting is required if the volunteer is trying to package a .deb file that will work on both Debian and Ubuntu. So there are multiple possible reasons for the delay, but nothing specifically against users of the debian branch of distributions. By the way, there is no .rpm package available for 5.2 at the Gramps github page, either as of the morning of 29 Feb. If a Fedora user wants to install Gramps through Gnome Software right now, they have to use the 5.1.6 rpm or the 5.2 flatpak.

Of course installing from source is an option, if you want to try manually installing all the dependencies first. There are some Ubuntu specific details here gramps/INSTALL at master · gramps-project/gramps · GitHub as well as the list at the github readme GitHub - gramps-project/gramps: Source code for Gramps Genealogical program
For prequisite names if you install them manually, it depends on your distro.
Debian-based package names can be found at Debian -- Packages
Ubuntu-based package names at https://packages.ubuntu.com/

1 Like

If you are upgrading from a previous version then the dependencies will already be installed.

When installing use pip3 as follows: