Two Gramps directories for media files after reinstallation

Gramps 5.15, Manjaro Linux, XFCE.

Hello everyone,

I’m a newbie on this forum and I have a simple question about relative paths. My OS language is French.

I have been using Gramps since 2020 with no trouble except this one. I pasted by mistake a whole text in the GPS coordinates window for a new place. After that, every time I tried to create a new place, it broke XFCE. To solve the problem, I backuped the whole database (20 Gb with all the medias), erased the hidden Gramps directory, reinstalled Gramps and restored my database. Everything works fine, except that the media are now split in two different Gramps directories.

Arbre familial 1.gpkg.media
└── home
└── jean
├── Arbre familial 1POTTAM_2021-01-05-2021-05-03-09-34-15_2021-07-12.gpkg.media
│ └── home
│ └── jean
│ └── Gramps
└── Gramps

It works fine, but what a mess !

What do you suggest ?

Welcome

The problem was using the backup including media files. Since you were going from your original Gramps database to a new Gramps database on the same machine the standard .gramps (XML) non-media backup would have sufficed. Including the media option should be limited to backups for storage separate from the computer (depending on the number of media files this backup will become very large) and to exporting a branch of your database to give to relatives.

In Gramps, the Media records only point to the raw media files. These files sit in folders in your OS. Gramps does not actually hold any media file, only the path to these files.

To solve your issue…

Look at what you have stored as the base media path in Preferences (menu >> Edit >> Preferences) Base path for relative media paths:

This is the folder Gramps will look for your active media files. FYI: This is a database setting so different family tree databases can have different media folders.