Sharing people data for a new tree

(Using Windows 10 and version 5.1.3 of Gramps)

Hi everyone,

I am new to Gramps (and genealogy). I have worked my way around and have successfully built my fathers family tree. He was an only child, so it wasn’t too difficult. I now want to build my mothers family but I cannot find a way to share the people. I was thinking it would be better to create it as a separate family tree?

I appreciate your help.

Annette

Welcome

I would recommend building your mother’s tree in the same database. After all, Your Family Tree will be the combination of both branches. One database also means only one place database to build, one set of sources etc. If you need to generate a report of only one branch, this can easily be done using a filter.

But if you still want two databases with only the shared people brought into the new tree…

Create a filter that selects just the people you want. Then do an export. Select Gramps XML (family tree). In the options set the People filter to the filter you created, make sure no living or private information is excluded, and set the Reference option to Do not include records not linked to a selected person. This last options limits places, events, etc to just those items actually needed by the people and families in your filter.

Once you have the export file, you can create the new database for your mother and then import the file.

Making multiple Trees separately for each spouse would be a mistake that would cause you a great deal of redundant work. Keeping the data harmonized would be confusing. (For instance, you add a Cemetery to one Tree then discover the spouse has ancestors in the same cemetery & have to look up the Address & GPS info again.)

And generally speaking, you’re probably going to find endogamy within a community if the lines have been there for several generations. And pedigree collapse for lines from the same countries.