Newbie questions about publishing new gramplet

Okay, so I’ve written a new gramplet, and I’m working through the instructions on Addons development - Gramps.

First, I’d like some confirmation to know if what I’ve done so far is okay. I’ve managed to upload my new Cosanguinuity gramplet to GitHub - gramps-project/addons-source at gramps51. So far so good?

Second, I think I might be missing something in the section “List your addon in the Gramps Plugin Manager”. Do I need to do a “git push”? What do I need to do to move forward?

I am an experienced programmer, but have zero experience with Git, and I’m still a newbie on the Gramps development process.

Cheers! Hane

To list your addon in the Plugin Manager you have to update the listings and the files in gramps/addons. See steps about usage in the README file of gramps/addons-source.

For addon development a pull request to addon-source is usually all you have to do, since the other steps are also maintained by experienced developers like @prculley.

1 Like

I should have replied sooner. I see you got addon-source rights from Nick. And so you have uploaded your code there. I would have said that the more normal approach to doing a new addon was to do a PR from your own Github account to the addon-source. We (developers) can then test your addon or change, provide comments against the PR, and accept when it seems ready. Part of the accept process would be for one of us to use the build scripts to create the listings and release gzip files. And then we would push the resulting items to the addons repo.
Normally most new contributors don’t get rights to the addons repo.
When I get a chance I will try to see if your work looks ok and build/release for you. It would be best if in the future if you use the PR process.