Media file error in Ancestral Report

Gramps 5.1.5-1 Win 10

Hi all, Gramps Noob here.

I’m fighting to import a 500+ person Gedcom file which came from Genbox. Apparently in Gedcom 5.5 I’m finding numerous issues and editing the file to correct what I can. I wonder if there is interest in documenting those issues as Genbox is kind of old now. I wish it was still supported.

My current problem is that I have images (.jpg) which are visible in the Gallery for a specific individual. When I do a REPORT → TEXT --< Detailed Ancestral, I get error messages in the report saying:

Records not imported into INDI (individual) Gramps ID I0017:
Line ignored as not understood Line 523: 2 FORM JPEG
Line ignored as not understood Line 524: 2 FILE D:\geneology
\images\headstones\Mt Calvary DBQ\John Fuerst hs1.JPG
Line ignored as not understood Line 527: 2 FORM JPEG
Line ignored as not understood Line 528: 2 FILE D:\geneology
\images\Fuerst Family\John G Fuerst\fuerst_fam-1963-01.JPG

Yet these files do exist with that name & path. They are visible in the People/Gallery.

Any clue what I’m missing?

thanks

I believe these Error msgs are from the Import of the Gedcom file. No clue where the msgs reside, nor how to remove them.

Clearly the image files exist now and when People are selected, the Gallery displays the image. The report is reading the old error msgs rather than looking at the new/fixed links.

Welcome!

There’s always interest in documenting GEDCOM interchange idiosyncrasies. The Wikipage is easy to expand. And sooner or later, someone else will find it useful – even if they just use Gramps as a cleanup tool while transferring the data somewhere else.

Gramps sometimes complains when the GEDCOM is non-standard and then makes a pretty good guess about what was meant. And when the importer complains, it generally preserves the original GEDCOM line so a post-process can be applied.

You can use the Isotammi SuperTool add-on to do mass edits.