Importing a place with GetGOV fails

Hi,

I’m new to Gramps and just starting a family tree (on Windows 10, current Gramps version 5.1.3). I thought about how to record place names and found the GetGOV gramplet. It looks nice and I imported a couple of places just fine. Then I had one place (REIAELJO30KJ) where just the place was imported, but no hierarchy. The GOV website shows the hierarchy just fine. When I tried to import the parent place for the church (REIEID_W5489), nothing happens. Nothing is imported, but there isn’t any kind of error either.

Is there a way to get more information about what the gramplet does, a log file or debug output? And is this kind of behaviour normal for the GetGOV gramplet? I’d like to get this sorted before I try to record many place names using this system. Thanks for any insight on this issue.

Regards,
Johannes

Welcome

I tried the import on a new database.

The church Reifferscheid (St. Michael) (REIAELJO30KJ) imported with no hierarchy.

I deleted the record in Gramps and I imported the Dorf Reifferscheid (REIEID_W5489). I imported the Parish Reifferscheid (St. Michael) (object_1271356) both with no problems each with their own hierarchy. I imported the church Reifferscheid (St. Michael) (REIAELJO30KJ) again and again, because there is no hieracrchy, it did not join up with either the Dorf or Parish.

What is supposed to happen is that both the civil and religious hierarchies for the church should have download when you fed the church’s location’s code into the app. Because the same upper hierarchies will import for multiple locations, these places should merge with the records with the same codes you previously imported. This is the first time I have seen this problem although I am not a big user of the app.

This what imported for the dorf

and the parish