Chain/network of marriages

Some days ago I found an old article from 1958 describing a chain/network of 40 marriages. I was interested in analysing this special and huge partner chain (Do you know a longer one?). Such marriages are ending by the end of one partner’s life or by divorce. Then the remaining partner marries again and so on …

I used Transkribus and ChatGPT to get a GEDCOM file out of that article. Finally, I could show the persons and families using the genealogical program webtrees (using the webtrees custom modules cce and LIN). I’m interested now in how Gramps could visualize such a chain of marriages. I use Gramps/GramspWeb/GrampsHub occasionally, but I’m not experienced.

My work is described in a GenWiki article in the German language: https://wiki.genealogy.net/Eine_Kette_von_40_Ehen

If you like to test the GEDCOM file, which resulted in my activity, send me a personal message because I cannot upload the file here.

5 Likes

One of the things that interested me about this was how the data could be flowed into Gramps.

Instead of using an AI to generate a GEDCOM (which is not terribly readable to most humans), I was wondering if the AI couldn’t format a table that could be pasted into the Text Import gramplet (with the Tab separated values). All I would have to do is feed the AI the column headers that Gramps necessitates.

Unfortunately, the Text Import doesn’t have an option to feed in the Divorce Events. Nor does it have the option to add Family Events other than Marriage.

I also liked the look of the hand-plotted Hieratskette (Hierarchy chain) diagram in the referenced GenWiki article and the WebTrees relationship plot in this thread.

I’d normally feed GEDCOM export from Gramps into yEd to get something like the 2nd one. But the Hieratskette? I don’t have a starting idea on doing a diagram like that.

This is an interesting approach. An alternative way would be generating Excel tables by ChatGPT and using GedTool to generate GEDCOM.