Basic doubts when starting

Hello, I am new to using this program, but with many years of genealogy research.
Usage W11 and GRAMPS: AIO64-5.1.5-1
Excuse me, I use a translator as English is not my mother tongue.
I have several doubts, I hope you can solve them or tell me where I can find a solution, if there is one.

• Can I put colors for the branches of my 4 grandparents?
  • I want places to appear in the graphs (only the date appears).
  • I need to see the Sosa numbers always and everywhere.
    To train myself, I have created a small tree with my parents and grandparents. In the Board it appears [Missing surname] It is not really true, they are all there, how can I correct it?

Thank you very much

1 Like

Hello and welcome!

In the Charts view, select View → Configure. Some of the charts, such as the Graph View, let you include places:

The surname is a separate data entry field:

Is that where you entered it?

You can tag people and choose what color you want for each tag. See how the names are colored in this example. The tags can also appear in many other views.

1 Like

Gramps supports several genealogical numbering systems in various reports.

Since the numbering systems are based on a reference person (a progenitor for descendant numbering systems; a center person for ancestor numbering systems) and that reference person can easily be changed before running a report, the numbers are not normally stored as the “Gramps ID”.

The Gramps ID is normally automatically assigned in sequential order to each new record following the ID Formats specified in the Gramps Preferences.

However, you can override this and assign the ID manually. Just type in the ID that you want to use in to the ID field. This can be done during creation of a record… or any time later. The ID simply must be unique.

1 Like

Thank you very much for your prompt response.