Merging data from two databases

5.1.4 win10
Has anything been developed to help me save some time? I’m not a coder.
I have a copy of my tree on Ancestry with 4400 persons. I have collected a lot of sources with these records. I downloaded a copy of the tree and created a new db in GRAMPS to take a look at how well the information was recorded. It is surprisingly good.
I realized that I have not done a good job of creating “residence” events based on census records.

Here is the question. Is there any non-manual way to extract some of these events from the Ancestry db and create them in my FamilyTree db? There maybe 10,000 of these.

Matching the persons might be a small issue, but most should match since I tried to keep the names, DOB and locations the same.

Any ideas? Is even possible?

The best solution I can give as a noncoder myself is using Power Query in Excel or the data import, import the different files (gedcom and XML) using this tools in Excel, that way you can define the column names.
Create a CSV in the Gramps format and save it and import it to Gramps, most of your data would be imported.

Alternatively, you can use one of the Excel to Gedcom addons for Excel found on Sourceforge or at Github.

3rd option is to use the excellent software OpenRefine, import and consolidate the data and export it to CSV or even XML or SQLITE format and then import it to Gramps.

It will be some technical stuff and testing and failing, but you will get clean data out when finished.
You will need to set up a template for either the Gramps XML or the export/import SQLITE format, if nooen that already have done it want to share their OpenRefine Template with you (I don’t have one, sorry)

1 Like