Importing Ancestry data - Getting Started suggestions

Hello everyone! I’m new to geneology and inherited a substantial database from my mother-in-law. It came from Ancestry so I just got a gedcom file that they had backed up and didn’t include any media. I’ve search the forum trying to find some answers but not having much luck.
It seems others have tried, but is there not a way to get the media files from Ancestry.com?
When entering data are there some guidelines to follow? I’ve watched the tutorials and they helped quite a bit. I’m curious about events and places, should a residence be listed as an event such as when you moved there or just as a residence. How does a location get listed on the Geography button?

I’ve also installed the PlacesCleanup addon, and I’m trying to get all the long list of places normalized like they should be, Cleanup doesn’t seem to help with merging multiple places that are similar am I missing something?

Thanks
Tony

The Place Cleanup addon gramplet is good for normalizing Place hierarchical data and adding coordinates. It is also good for avoiding duplication of Place hierarchy as you recategorize a Place imported as a comma separated list. It checks for existing enclosing places rather than making another duplicate enclosure. But it is NOT good for merging duplicates that already exist.

But the MultiMerge addon Gramplet (from the Isotammi project’s collection of Gramps addons… that Isotammi project has to be added to your Addon Manager configuration) is excellent for automerging a multitude of duplicate places.