Format problems in Gramps XML

Gramps version 5.1.6 on Debian Linux 6.1.76-1 (2024-02-01).
I have been using Gramps for 12 years now, and have a fairly large tree (about 20.000 persons and 30.000 events). In order to correct some mistakes I made years ago, to simplify things (e.g. merge identical sources) and to eventually split it up in separate trees, I’m writing a script (in perl, don’t know Python, sorry) which manipulates the export XML.

Up to now that went very well, but with my latest development Gramps refuses to import the new XML, complaining about missing relations.

Is there any way I can get more information out of it: where in the XML the problem occurs, what items are not correctly linked etc. ? That would enormously facilitate my debugging (the XML is 20 MB!).

You can merge sources with the Isotammi tools, and relations are bidirectional. Can it be that you forgot to change some reference handles?

Have you tried running gramps from Linux’s terminal? There might be additional messages that will be routed there.

There are also command line options for additional debugging features.

The sources are already merged, including the re-referencing to the new single source. The import went well at that stage. What I’m now doing is creating new “Baptism” events where I added a note to Birth (“baptized on the same day”). The new events get new ID’s (E…) counting up from the last E number found, a new handle and change time, and I insert an eventref to the new handle in the where the eventref to the Birth already exists. But somehow, somewhere that went wrong apparently… How to find out where/what?? The error message is rather terse.

You might also explore the import xml module (around where the message occurs) and insert some debugging “print” statements.

(Had to do that for some thumbnailer troubleshooting. Described in another thread)

1 Like

@Nick-Hall

A common suggestion has been to tweak the XML (with Perl or Grep).