FamilySearch citation pasting

I’m just starting out with Gramps so forgive a question that may have already been asked. I searched topics and didn’t find anything relevant, so here goes…

For many years now my “database” has been a MS Word file (yeah, that’s right, all 32MB of it). I use FamilySearch extensively, and try to have a FS citation for every event. To make my life easier, I wrote a script that works with FS’s “Copy Citation” button. My script parses the copied citation, peels off the URL, and writes the result as an endnote hyperlinked to the source image.

Are there any Gramps plug-ins that do something similar? Meaning, on FS I would click “Copy Citation” then in Gramps run a Tool (Gramplet?) that would add a citation including the URL?

Assuming there are none such, I’d love to take a whack at implementing this. Just need a pointer to developer documentation.

Thanks in advance,
Mark

2 Likes

There are a variety of options for interacting with FamilySearch. It could use a volunteer to assess which are reasonable for a user new to Gramps and comment about them. Certainly, moving forward needs some feedback.

You can import a download tree from FamilySearch to import as a starting point. There are a few threads about that. @ennoborg normally recommends the synchronization functions with FS in RootsMagic. They have an advantage in that they can execute a developer agreement with FS. The Gramps project doesn’t have a corporate entity that can make such agreements. So we cannot gain access to the resources and individual developers are probably prohibited from shared the proprietary information gained through their agreements.

Probably the most integrated feature for Gramps is a set of addons called PersonFS written by Jean Michault. It includes a Gramplet for visually comparing, a tool for importing and a tool for comparing. You can read about it in the English translations of his README.en.md on GitHub.