DigitalOcean droplet: 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable

Newbie here – trying this out. On DigitalOcean deployed the droplet, then through Droplet Console (or ssh) can login via root and initially I see the request for a domain name – so I’ve provided that. After that the IP address for the droplet can be pinged, so it’s alive. But when I click on the blue button on the page saying “Get Started”/“Getting started after deploying Gramps Web”, it’s returning a " 503 Service Temporarily Unavailable". I’ve followed steps 1 and 2 on DigitalOcean - Gramps Web, maybe step 3 is going wrong.

Could you please give me a few more details on Step 3? I’ve pointed the nameservers on my domain to the digital ocean nameservers. What else do I need to do there?

Wouldn’t your domain nameservers point at the IP rather than the DigitalOcean nameservers?

DigitalOceans is just providing a fixed IP address, not DNS service.

Will try as well and let you know. Can’t exclude some recent updates of GW need modification of the DO app.

1 Like

well, for the moment just going to the IP address directly by clicking on the “Getting Started” button isn’t working. Before I go to gramps.mydomainname.com I guess we should see if just going to the IP address is working, but maybe I am missing something…not sure.

I wouldn’t be sure about that, since it’s using acme-companion based on nginx. 503 is the typical status when nginx is unhappy.

Please try with a domain and let me know. You can use DuckDNS; it’s also possible to change it later.

Had to look that up!

acme-companion is a lightweight companion container for nginx-proxy

It handles the automated creation, renewal and use of SSL certificates for proxied Docker containers through the ACME protocol.

So you’re saying the SSL certificate has to validated against the domain name?