Tweak libwebconnect for non-person links

Hi,

I’m trying to tweak the libwebconnect module to work with places, but cannot figure out what’s going wrong. Most probably something trivial as I’m new to the gramps development, and hope someone can provide a hint how to proceed.

I begin by adding the record [“Place”, “Google”, “Google”, “http://www.google.com/search?&q=%(parish)s”] to the WEBSITES in my extension of the SVWebPack.py

Then I modify the callback function in libwebconnect.py as follows:

def callback(self, widget):
from gramps.gui.display import display_url
#results = make_person_dict(self.dbstate, self.handle)
results = make_place_dict(self.dbstate, self.handle)
display_url(self.pattern % results, self.uistate)

Next step is to add a trivial make function:

def make_place_dict(dbstate, handle):
    """
    Create a dictionary to hold values for replacing in URLs.
    """
    results = {
                    "parish": "",
        }
    place = dbstate.db.get_place_from_handle(handle)
    if place:
        results["parish"] = place.get_name().value
    return results

Trying this results in that in the Places interface right-clicking will not result in any menu item with the place internet link above, but in the People it looks like expected (but trying to follow a link will naturally throw an error as I deleted the make_person_dict call above).

Hence, it feels like the error cannot be in the make_place_dict, as it still pops up for People. So what have I been missing that disqualifies links for places?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Magnus

1 Like

I am not a coder so cannot answer your direct questions, but as an active user of the functionality I am very much interested in this topic.

The code indicates that it should work for all parts of the database. The FRWebPack.py has search entries for both Place and Source (admittedly commented out '#'). But even making them active, the Web Connections on right-click does not present itself.