Best Way to Enter a Lineage

(Gramps v4.5.1.6, Windows 11 x64)

I’m very new to Gramps and I’m trying to figure out if it will serve my needs. I have quite a large lineage I’d like to enter into it, and it consists of multiple families which are sometimes connected and sometimes not. But there are also lineages, such as teacher/student or ordination of priests/monks from one to the next. It’s that last lineage part I’m having trouble with. I tried entering them in as Associations and it seems work as far as storing the data, but I’d like to be able to generate a report or chart of the lineages, like seeing a tree of teacher to student all the way down the line, and I can’t see a way to do that. Am I going about this the wrong way or am I missing something? I’m open to any suggestions!

Have you tried looking at the Deep Connections Addon Gramplet?

It looks for the connection between the Active Person and the Home Person. In the following example, I’ve marked a series of 4 William Bouchers as a series of Godfather Associations to the next.

So William was the Godfather of William C.; who was the Godfather of William Donel; who was the Godfather of the Home Person, William J.

And if I run Sync Association addon tool to create the reciprocal Associations (Godchild to …) then I can look from the opposite side of the chain of associations. I set William as the Home Person instead of William J.; then select William J. as the Active Person:

I did try that, and that works for seeing the associations on the sidebar. But I want to make them show up on reports, like family trees.

Think of Gramps as a collection of tools to link people together.

Gramps is designed to handle families that have parents and often children and these people can be members as parents and children of multiple families.

Taking the Teacher / Student dynamic, I can envisage using a Gramps “Family” to bring these people together.